You are here

Youth & Teen eResource Book Recommendations

Anne's picture
Our Summer Reading Program is underway! To help motivate your young readers, here are few quick reminders about online resources.
 
Links to the sites and apps can be found at helenplum.org/ebooks-and-audiobooks. You’ll need your library card number to access your account. OverDrive and Axis 360 titles can usually be found on Helen Plum’s online catalog. Or you can download the free apps and check out the titles directly on your device.
 
TumbleBooks and Hoopla are a little trickier because the available titles do not show up on our catalog. You have to go to the sites and check out titles there. Right now, Hoopla is allowing Bonus Borrows which gives you additional titles than you can normally get in a month.
 
Another difference? OverDrive and Axis 360 have a limited amount of titles so you might have to place holds. Hoopla and TumbleBooks do not have holds — if they own the title, you can get it!
 
Remember, you can count books being read to you. Check out some of our favorite read alouds from our blog, Help with Having Fun at Home! Teens can also enjoy the Audiobook Sync program. Each week through the end of July, two great, high interest audiobooks are given away for free. Sign up at audiobooksync.com.
 
Axis 360=A, Hoopla=H, Hoopla Bonus Borrows = HBB, OverDrive=O, TumbleBooks=TB
 

Picture Books and Readers

Arnie the Doughnut by Laurie Keller
A talking doughnut tries to convince a customer that not all doughnuts are meant to be eaten in this funny tale.
eAudiobook: HBB
Read by Chris O’Dowd on storylineonline.net
 
Ethan helps his brave little sister find her own bedtime monster.
eBook: HBB; O
 
Hooray for Hat! by Brian Won
Elephant is in a grumpy mood until a hat on his doorstep cheers him and motivates him to spread his joy to his friends, along with a love of hats.
eBook: HBB
 
Bunny Days by Tao Nyeu
In beautiful illustrations, bunnies keep getting thrown into chaos by silly goats and rescued by Bear.
eBook: TB
 
Spare Dog Parts by Alison Hughes
A girl explores what makes a perfect pet in a sweet way.
eBook: TB
 
Chicken Butt! by Erica S. Perl
Humorous illustrations accompany silly rhyming text about a strange chicken.
eBook: HBB
 
No Fits, Nilson! by Zachariah OHora
Amelia keeps reminding her gorilla friend, Nilson, not to throw tantrums. But sometimes Amelia needs reminders too!
Read by Brightly Storytime on YouTube
 
Joan Procter, Dragon Doctor by Patricia Valdez
An excellent picture book biography of a pioneering female scientist who loved reptiles.
eBook: O
Read by Brightly Storytime on YouTube
 
Two for Me, One for You by Jörg Mühle
Bear and Weasel have three mushrooms, big appetites and trouble sharing. How will the problem be solved?
eBook: H
 
For fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, Princess Pippa loves science and hates eating her veggies. Her invention of chocolate peas seems perfect — until her creation grows out of control!
eBook: H
 
Collages and background information about animals make this nonfiction book a fun read for those who love zoos.
eBook: H
 

Chapter Books

A Venus flytrap tries to find the real thief after his goat assistant is arrested for stealing a golden pickle paperweight in this humorous mystery.
eBook: HBB
 
Just Grace series by Charise Mericle Harper
Third grader Grace tries to help with not-so-great results in stories reminiscent of Judy Moody, Clementine and Amber Brown.
eBook: HBB; O
 
Mystery! Time freezing! Good versus evil! This story about two cousins looking for one more good case before summer ends has it all.
eBook: O
 
Eddie Red Undercover series by Marcia Wells
With a photographic memory and a talent for drawing, sixth grader Eddie Red helps solve mysteries.
eBook: A; HBB; O
 
In this realistic fiction, five children tried to convince their grumpy landlord to let them stay in their home.
eBook: A; H; O
 
Allies by Alan Gratz
Young people experience D-Day during World War II in this historical fiction work.
eAudiobook: HBB; O
eBook: A; O
 
Scar Island by Dan Gemeinhart
Reformed school students are stranded on an island in this survival tale akin to Lord of the Flies.
eAudiobook and eBook: O
 
A butler helps a family in this quirky realistic fiction.
eBook: A; O
 
Before the Sword by Grace Lin
A prequel to the legend of Mulan by the beloved author of Where the Mountain Meets the Moon.
eBook: H
 
The first book in the story of the boy wizard who saves the world.
eAudiobook and eBook: A; H; O
 
Fever, 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson
A teen learns about perseverance and self-reliance as she faces the horrors of the yellow fever epidemic in America.
eAudiobook: H; O
eBook: O
 

Teen Books

A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee
A teen thief becomes a private investigator in Victorian England.
eBook: A; O
 
Dry by Neal Shusterman
A California drought turns apocalyptic in this survival thriller.
eAudiobook: O
eBook: A; O
 
#Murdertrending by Gretchen McNeil
People enjoy watching gruesome executions of society’s most infamous convicted felons until one prisoner decides to fight back.
eBook: H; O
 
In a kingdom where magic is forbidden, a princess tries to uncover her father’s killer.
eBook: H; O
 
One of Us Is Next by Karen M. McManus
The follow-up to the popular One of Us Is Lying has a new mystery, new targets and gossip galore.
eAudiobook: O 
eBook: A; O